2015 Bay League Results

Boys Win 1st Bay League Title in 9 years!    Girls Take a Very Close 2nd!
Congrats to all MCXC cross country teams on a great season!
Girls Varsity Final score – PV 34, MCHS 38, Redondo 49

Just 4 points separated the girls varsity team from 1st place Palos Verdes at Thursday’s Bay League Finals.

Melia (Elizabeth) Chittenden lead the team with a 2nd place finish overall at (18:58).  Her time tied the all-time 2nd fastest time for MCHS on the PV course (with Abby Hong, who went on to run the Footlocker finals in 2013).  The only time faster was Savannah Pio, in 2010, who went on to be state champion.

But, we know that team wins take entire teams running amazing races and that’s what happened at Bay League – rounding out the varsity finishes were Alexis Johnson 4th (19:40), Emily Jones 7th (20:06), Brooke Inouye 12th (20:24), Amanda Han 13th (20:26), Ellie Lee- Morrow 22nd (21:22), Jessie Gregson-Williams 23rd (22:02)

Alexis Johnson’s time moves her to the #7 slot on the all-time MCHS list on the PV course.  Emily Jones had an amazing run as well, improving her time over Bay League 1 by 1:30 to move into the #3 spot on the varsity team!

Boys Varsity final score – MCHS 26, Redondo 44, PV 72

The headline at PrepCalTrack read Mira Costa Boys Continue to Sparkle!  They sparkled all the way to a resounding Bay League title, the first since 2006.

Ethan Williams led the Mira Costa team with a strong finish to come in second overall with a time of 16:32, setting a new MCXC PV course record.  Every Varsity boy set a new personal record, and also school records:  Ty Garret ran the 3rd best Mira Costa time; Caleb Llorin – 1st, Michael Yaskowitz – 2nd, and Scott Healy – 3rd ran the top 3 fastest times for Juniors and Cole Lewis – #1 and Scott Healy – #2, the top 2 Sophomore times.  These top 5 runners also all finished the course in under 17:00, a feat only 5 other Costa runners have accomplished since records have been kept!

The overall finishes and times: Ty Garrett 3rd (16:40), Caleb Llorin 6th  (16:50), Cole Lewis 7th (16:51), Michael Yaskowitz 8th (16:57), Quinn Satow 10th (17:13), Scott Healy 11th (17:15).

Ethan and Ty were interviewed by DyeStatCal – click here for the interview.

Girls JV Results – 1st Place Team

MCHS 24, Redondo 57, PV 58

Gabby (Anna) Guerrero led the Girls JV race winning with a time of 20:53, followed by Eliza Murray 4th (21:19), Sofia Vialpando 5th (21:27), Kate Lovekin 6th (21:30), and Emily Stebbings 8th (21:40).

Girls Frosh Race – 3rd Place Team

Finishing first for Costa, Sydney Pell took 4th overall with a time of 22:05, followed by Allyson Doyle 9th (22:48), Alexandra Bedingfield 11th (23:07), Anna Graves 12th (23:14), Bianca Bosnoyan 16th (23:53).

Boys Junior Varsity Results – 1st Place Team

MCHS 24, PV 59, Redondo 69

Austin Lamb led the way in the Boys JV race winning 17:55, followed by Matt Arruda 2nd (17:57), Ryan Locicero 4th (18:12), Dylan Hankamer 6th (18:20), Alan Faber 10th (18:31).

Boys Frosh Race – 3rd Place Team

Cy Chittenden took 1st place with a new freshman course record 18:03, followed by Cole Gamble 5th (18:40), JP Soares 12th (19:16), Greg Moore 21st (20:01), Jake Phillips 28th (20:39).

For a complete list of results click here


About MCXC

Mira Costa High School Cross Country Booster Club
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.